srx-10i GPS Interference Monitoring and Alerting
The srx-10i central system includes a built-in interference events monitor. Through this monitor, the operator is informed about the interferences detected by the remote local monitors. Based on the reported information, the operator can launch detailed analyses of the reported interference events.
The alarms received from the remote local monitors can be visualized and managed in an “Incoming Alert” screen, where the alarms are displayed in tabular format (see figure below).
The system generates three types of alarm messages:
- Interference Alarms: Alarms sent by a remote station when local interference is detected. They are presented in the monitor in red.
- Life-Signal: This is a “keep-alive” message sent by a remote device to indicate that it is running, and the communication link is operating.
- Station Unavailable: These alarms are generated internally by the central analysis facility in case the life-signal from a given remote station is not received duly in time. They are presented in the monitor in orange.
The monitor window includes a text box to show details about the received alarms. This text box is limited to 10000 characters, in such a way that the first messages will be cleaned up when the maximum size is reached.
The alarm table itself is also limited to a maximum of 10000 alarms: once this number is reached, the oldest one will be removed to make room for the new one. In any case, all the alarms are permanently preserved in the alarm log files, so that they can be checked at any time.
By pressing the mouse right button in the alarms table, a menu is displayed with some options for the currently-selected alarm in the table. The available options are:
- “Delete All Alarms”: This option clears the whole alarm table, regardless the alarms are actually selected or not.
- “Change State”: This option changes the alarms status to “Processed”, thus helping the operator keep visual trace about the interference events already analyzed.
- “Delete”: This option removes the selected alarms. In order to prevent accidental loses, the alarm needs to be changed to “Processed” prior to be removed.